I studied jewellery design at the Geneva school of applied Arts and at the Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam. Influenced by the Dutch design culture I have a conceptual approach in my work. Even though I am coming from a jewellery background I never felt limited to stay within its boundaries but felt free to create other objects. One object leads to another; the common idea or the link is decisive for the nature of the object not the form, its material or its function.


My work is often inspired by topics of the realm of food culture. The comparison of appearance and reality, nature and culture, as well as the discussion about good and bad taste are fascinating aspects to me. Such categories can be applied to both food and ornament.
The spirit of sugar and ornament are quite similar, one pleases the eye whereas the other is a delight for the taste-buds. The large quantity of recipes available to us, tell about our highly developped and specialised sense of taste. Is there a sense in arguing about good taste?
The German expression „man ist, was man isst“ (you are what you’re eating) characterises an identity-generating component of food that can be very well assigned to jewellery too. In terms of a trophy the wearer overtakes the qualities of the slaid animal and blazons himself with the heroic hunting story. In doing so you can very well adorn yourself with borrowed plumes, this is, again, a question of taste.

deutsch / english

Ich habe an der Haute Ecole des Arts Appliquées in Genf und an der Gerrit Rietveld Academie in Amsterdam Schmuck studiert. Besonders das holländische Designdenken hat mich massgeblich beeinflusst und meine konzeptuelle Arbeitsweise bestärkt. Ich habe zwar Schmuckdesign studiert, aber immer wieder arbeite ich auch in anderen Bereichen. Wichtig für mich ist das Konzept, die Materialien, die Form und die Funktion folgen später.

Ausgangspunkte meiner Arbeiten sind oft Themen aus der Kulturgeschichte des Essens. Die Gegenüberstellung von Schein und Sein oder auch von Natur und Kultur ergeben Aspekte, die mich immer wieder faszinieren und die sowohl im Zusammenhang mit Nahrung, aber auch mit Ornamenten auftauchen.
Der Geist des Zuckers und des Ornaments sind vergleichbar, das Eine ist ein Gaumenkitzel, das Andere ein Augenschmaus. Die unzähligen Rezepte, die es gibt, beweisen unseren entwickelten Geschmacksinn. Doch kann man über guten Geschmack streiten?
Der Ausdruck “man ist, was man isst” beschreibt eine identitätsstiftende Komponente, die auch dem Schmuck eigen ist. Im Sinne einer Trophäe übernimmt der Träger beispielsweise die Eigenschaften des erlegten Tieres und brüstet sich mit der heroischen Jagdgeschichte. Dabei kann man sich natürlich auch mit fremden Federn schmücken, das hingegen ist wiederum eine Frage des Stils.

deutsch / english